StAI SEO Course Study

Home/AI SEO course certification exam

Exam rules, 12 programs

AI SEO Course Certification Exam Rules, Program by Program

AI SEO course certification exams are short: published ones run 20 to 80 questions, with pass marks from 70% to 85%. Only 5 of 12 programs that require an exam publish a question count, so read the rules before you start the clock.

Every published AI SEO course certification exam rule

Every published AI SEO course certification exam rule below was copied from the provider's official page on September 26, 2026. "Not stated" means the public page did not say, usually because the rules sit behind a login.

ProgramQuestionsPass markTime limitRetakesValidity
Ahrefs AEO Course48Not statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
Georion GEO Academy4070%45 minutes3 per year12 months
HubSpot AEO FundamentalsNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
Obility GEO Certification3024 of 30Not statedNot statedNot stated
Semrush AI Search Operating SystemNot statedNot statedVaries by course3 attempts, then a one-month wait1 year
Semrush AI SEO Course (formerly AI Visibility Essentials)Not statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
Semrush Content Marketing and AI SearchNot statedNot statedVaries by course3 attempts, then a one-month wait1 year
Semrush Off-Page SEO and AI SearchNot statedNot statedVaries by course3 attempts, then a one-month wait1 year
Surfer AI Search Optimization Masterclass2085%About 30 minutesUnlimited2 years
Bruce Clay SEO Certification8080%1 hourUp to 3Not stated
GSDC GEO CertificationNot statedNot statedNot stated1 free retakeNot stated
Muck Rack GEO CertificateNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated

Only 5 of the 12 programs publish a question count and 4 publish a pass mark. Published exams run 20 to 80 questions, and Surfer's 85% is the highest pass mark among the free exams.

How to pass an AI SEO course certification exam

To pass an AI SEO course certification exam, take the course the exam is written for: vendor exams test the vendor's own vocabulary and tool workflows, not general knowledge.

  • Know the retake policy first. Georion allows three retakes a year and Bruce Clay up to three attempts; Surfer allows unlimited retakes; Semrush's academy rules allow three attempts before a one-month wait.
  • Watch the clock. Where a limit is published it is short: about 30 minutes for Surfer, 45 for Georion, one hour for Bruce Clay.
  • Save the certificate right away. Several credentials expire after one or two years, and a PDF plus a LinkedIn entry is the proof you keep.

Exam or AI SEO course completion certificate?

An exam and an AI SEO course completion certificate prove different things. An exam shows you could recall the material under a time limit; a completion certificate shows you finished the lessons. Neither shows you can do the work. For a hiring manager the exam is the stronger signal. In the AI SEO course study data, 39 of 48 eligible programs issue a certificate of some kind; the AI SEO certification page lists all of them, and the AI SEO course cost page shows which free courses charge for the credential.

AI SEO course questions on this topic

Is an AI SEO certification exam hard?

Most are short multiple-choice tests of 20 to 80 questions on the provider's own course. Surfer's 85% pass mark is the strictest published among free exams.

How many questions are on an AI SEO certification exam?

Where published: Bruce Clay 80, Ahrefs AEO Course 48, Georion GEO Academy 40, Obility GEO Certification 30 and Surfer 20.

Can I retake an AI SEO certification exam?

Usually. Georion allows three retakes a year, Bruce Clay up to three attempts, Surfer unlimited retakes and Semrush three attempts before a one-month wait.